sinnamon's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the little mermaid

I am so lame.

I love The Little Mermaid. It�s been one of my favorite movies forever. I was ten when it first came out and I was so damn excited. I was so stoked when we watched it in class at school too.

I always liked the story, although the un-Disneyfied version is much, much sadder and more heartbreaking. No happily ever after and such.

So when they made a movie out of the story I was nearly dying of excitement. But I was ten.

Anyway, eleven years after the OG Little Mermaid comes�.The Little Mermaid 2.

When I saw the commercials for it, I openly scoffed. Every year Disney lowers its standards for movies. Now they have that �released only on video and DVD� junk. They are making sequels to everything and its grandma.

The last Disney movie I saw and actually liked was Mulan. And not just because it was all about my peeps. It was good, damnit. :D

I hope they don't make a Mulan 2.

So the bf took me to a bookstore yesterday and we saw The Little Mermaid 2 posters hanging on the shelf. I know, I openly made fun of the video but I really HAD to see it because I love TLM. I told my bf about it and he laughed at me but said he would get it for me. He is so sweet.

We went in and went upstairs to the movie/music section of the bookstore. I looked and looked but couldn�t find the damn movie anywhere. I told my boyfriend and he walked over to information and asked the dude at the counter. The dude looked us up and down and said slowly:

�That would be downstairs, in the Children�s Section.�

Ahh I just love condescending tones, don�t you? :P

I felt like a schmuck. But I went downstairs and got it anyway.

The movie was cute. But not nearly as good as the original TLM. They used most of the same voices, (which is a good thing), but the singing voice of Ariel was just really bad this time even though it was the same woman. Weirdness!

Cute, for kids. But definitely NOT quality.

Anyway, I�m lame. I love TLM and Mulan. Mulan was just kickass. Despite what other people might say! :P



01:57 AM - 092500

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unclebob
anenigma
entropia
dlove
scud
gawain
icebear
uberhamster
frank
kuinileti
racer96
classics
man-ashamed
mychai
angeline-is
alternamommy
kitchenlogic
mattu
planetreverb
andrew
nicky-d
dsurvivor5
systemshock