sinnamon's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my job

For the first time in a long, long time I had a weekend off. I mean totally off, no work, no MCAT class. It was unbelievable nice, I got tons of work done and I was able to sleep. I had today off too and I was able to finish some of my weekend homework already. I am way ahead of schedule.

Unfortunately this just proves that my job gets in the way of me getting my work done in time. It exhausts me so much that when I do come home, I can�t concentrate. Not to mention I am there about 9 hours a day because I always end up working late. I can�t study at work because it is just extremely busy. My job is interfering with my school and social life.

That makes me sad because I like my job a lot. I have learned so much in the past year. I never thought being a secretary would bring me to the level of medical knowledge that I am now. I have made good contacts, I know my floor inside and out. The nurses love me because I do so much for them, and I love them back because they are always willing to help me decipher some doctors handwriting or tell me what a certain test is for.

So when my boss told me that I probably wouldn�t be returning to my floor after I come back from China, my first thought was that I just shouldn�t come back to work at all. I haven't been there long enough to qualify for a "leave."

I mean, the job is just a secondary thing I do, it�s not as if I absolutely have to have it; although the money is nice. The fact that it does wear me down and affect my schoolwork probably means I should cut back as far as hours go, but I work so little (one or two days a week) I feel guilty about asking to cut back to something like every other weekend. One of the main reasons why I continue to work the way I do is because of the people I work with. They make it all worth it. Every now and then I have just a really great day and it makes me feel like I have accomplished something important.

But if I have to start working on other floor, especially if it is one of the ones I hate, I just don�t think I can do it anymore. Getting up at 5 AM on a Saturday so I can haul ass for 9 to 10 hours on a floor full of people that I do not like and/or know. Just not worth it.

I guess I will wait until I come back from China before I make a big decision about quitting or not. Maybe I will only work during the summer. I dunno yet. It just makes me sad that I probably won�t get to work on my floor next year. :/

Sigh.



11:00 PM - 041302

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unclebob
anenigma
entropia
dlove
scud
gawain
icebear
uberhamster
frank
kuinileti
racer96
classics
man-ashamed
mychai
angeline-is
alternamommy
kitchenlogic
mattu
planetreverb
andrew
nicky-d
dsurvivor5
systemshock