sinnamon's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nerd Evolution

Bob, to the delight of Bill, has become obsessed with chess lately. He is devouring Bill�s chess books and corning me into games. Which I lost two of the three, and drew one, only to have Bill give me a run down of how many times I COULD have won on the draw.

Well, that�s good to know dear. But I am not a chess genius like you, nor am I a devourer of boring chess books. Maybe with practice I will actually WIN a game, but not at the rate Bob�s consuming Bill�s library of chess strategy books. Oh well.

I am just not meant for chess. I am sure, with the right kind of devotion, I could play decently. But I just don�t have that kind of patience. I am surprised Bob does. Then again Bob has also been consuming classic novels. You know, the kind they always made you read in Honors English, then made you dissection every word for the imagery? Yeah, those kinds of novels.

It�s weird watching your little brother go from Sci-fi and dragon novels, with a healthy side of Magic the Gathering, to classic literature with some chess on top. I guess it�s some kind of geek evolution.

Lucky for me, I just stayed in the computer/videogame geek department. No evolution for me! But no Magic the Gathering either (thank God).

So all you nerds that found something familiar in my description of Little Bob, look out, days spend reading Moby Dick and other such fine pieces of fiction may be in your future :/

11:23 PM - 080503

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

unclebob
anenigma
entropia
dlove
scud
gawain
icebear
uberhamster
frank
kuinileti
racer96
classics
man-ashamed
mychai
angeline-is
alternamommy
kitchenlogic
mattu
planetreverb
andrew
nicky-d
dsurvivor5
systemshock